Qantas Socceroos Head Coach Pim Verbeek has selected 35 players in a provisional squad for the match in Brisbane on Wednesday October 15.

The full strength squad includes experienced campaigners as well as younger players who are showing outstanding form.

Everton midfielder Tim Cahill returns to the Qantas Socceroos squad after a 7 month absence due to a foot injury, while Queensland Roar captain and 2006 World Cup hero, Craig Moore, has also been named after coming out of international retirement from earlier this year.

Also returning from injury are Vincenzo Grella (calf), Scott McDonald (groin) and Matthew Spiranovic (wisdom teeth) who were all unavailable for selection for the recent Qantas Socceroo matches against the Netherlands and Uzbekistan.

Adelaide United’s Asian Champions League form has been recognised with Eugene Galekovic, Robert Cornthwaite, Scott Jamieson and Paul Reid all receiving their first call up to the Qantas Socceroos – as has Shannon Cole from Sydney FC.

Verbeek’s recognition of Cole completes a meteoric rise for the 24 year old who only two months ago was playing for Sydney Olympic in the NSW Premier League.

Verbeek will monitor the fitness and performance of the players in their respective domestic league matches over the weekend and may reduce his squad size early next week prior to the team’s assembly in Brisbane next Wednesday.

Mark BRESCIANO U.S. Citta di Palermo Italy
Jacob BURNS FC Unirea Valahorum Romania
Tim CAHILL Everton England
David CARNEY Sheffield United FC England
Scott CHIPPERFIELD FC Basel Switzerland
Shannon COLE Sydney FC Australia
Robert CORNTHWAITE Adelaide United Australia
Ante COVIC Newcastle Jets Australia
Chris COYNE Colchester United FC England
Jason CULINA PSV Eindhoven Netherlands
Bruce DJITE Genclerbirligi SK Turkey
Brett EMERTON Blackburn Rovers England
Eugene GALEKOVIC Adelaide United Australia
Richard GARCIA Hull City FC England
Vincenzo GRELLA Blackburn Rovers England
Brett HOLMAN AZ Alkmaar Netherlands
Scott JAMIESON Adelaide United Australia
Mile JEDINAK Central Coast Mariners Australia
Josh KENNEDY Karlsruher SC Germany
Harry KEWELL Galatasaray SK Turkey
Scott MCDONALD Celtic FC Scotland
Craig MOORE Queensland Roar Australia
Stuart MUSIALIK Sydney FC Australia
Lucas NEILL West Ham United FC England
Jade NORTH Newcastle Jets Australia
Michael PETKOVIC Sivasspor Turkey
Paul REID Adelaide United Australia
Mark SCHWARZER Fulham FC England
Matt SIMON Central Coast Mariners Australia
Matthew SPIRANOVIC FC Nurnberg Germany
Shane STEFANUTTO FC Lyn Oslo Norway
Mile STERJOVSKI Derby County FC England
Archie THOMPSON Melbourne Victory Australia
Alex WILKINSON Central Coast Mariners Australia
Luke WILKSHIRE FK Dinamo Moscow Russia