Perth’s Youth Team Coach Gareth Naven, a former captain of the club, has worked tirelessly for the past four months to finalise a 12 man squad from several hundred players who attended open trials in May.

“It’s a great opportunity for the players. Our game is all about the players,” Naven said.

“We had a huge response during trials and the young men we have selected are exceptionally talented footballers who have been given this wonderful opportunity and we’ll give them every chance to make the most of that.

“It is everyone’s hope that this group of players will be the next generation for Perth Glory.”

Players aged 16 to 21 are eligible for selection in the Youth Team and will contest a 21 round fixture (including 3 byes) with four over-aged players from the club’s senior squad able to participate on a week by week basis.

Glory’s youth squad includes three players from the elite National Training Centre (NTC) program based at the WA Institute of Sport, one returning from the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) while the others represent the talent spread across the Football West State League clubs.

Western Knights striker Anthony Skorich has twice played at senior level with the Glory this season while defender Brent Griffiths turned down an offer to continue his development at Blackburn Rovers in England, where he has spent the past two seasons at their academy, to play in the National Youth League.

Perth Glory’s squad members also include Ryan Pearson (Armadale), Scott Neville (Sorrento), Liam Harvey (NTC), Dean Evans (Stirling Lions), James Sammut (Inglewood United), Howard Fondyke (AIS), Adam Luca (NTC), Ludovic Boi (Stirling Lions), Reece Vittiglia (NTC) and Andrija Jukic (Perth SC).

“The State League presidents and coaches have been terrific and are enthusiastic about the new competition. They should be commended on their willingness to allow players to train with us over the last few months,” Naven said.

“There is a consensus that the National Youth League affords our talented local players a great opportunity. We want to assist players to achieve a level where they can play in the Hyundai A-League, and who knows, perhaps overseas as well.”

Naven will be assisted by Glory Life Member and two times Most Glorious Player award recipient Scott Miller.

The Youth Team received a further boost with Members Equity Bank adding their significant support to the squad as front of shirt sponsors. Members Equity Bank will also be the major sponsor of Perth Glory women’s team to contest the upcoming Westfield W-League.

Picture courtesy of Perth Glory FC