With the Johnny Warren Foundation backing the vote, has launched to find Australia’s Greatest Ever Footballer.

There are other awards such as Greatest Female Player, Greatest Manager/Coach and the 11 players who make up our Greatest Ever Football Team.

The website explains the voting procedures and criteria, and lists the 72 names that a judging panel decided should be considered.

The panel included such names as Jamie Warren, nephew of Johnny Warren, Les Murray, Melissa Barbieri and Michael Cockerill.

Among those 72 nominated include Charlie Yankos, Alan Davidson, Lucas Neill and Joe Marston.

At the launch, former Socceroo and Manchester United keeper Mark Bosnich picked Harry Kewell as his greatest ever footballer.

He also plumped for Mark Schwarzer as keeper in his greatest ever team while Guus Hiddink got his vote for the greatest manager.

Matildas legend Julie Murray – herself a nominee for greatest ever female player – selected Julie Dolan as her greatest ever female player and Tim Cahill as her greatest in the men’s category.

Former Socceroo skipper and nominee Alex Tobin sat on the fence, explaining that at this early stage of voting it was too difficult for him to choose the greatest player, but promised to go online and cast his votes later.

“This celebration of football comes at an ideal time,” said judging panel member and self-confessed football tragic George Negus.

“A time when we should be thinking about football, the game and the players who make the game great.”

No doubt this contest will spark some lively debate. It all culminates in a lavish red carpet extravaganza in Sydney on July 12 where you could share a table with a nominee such as Harry Kewell, Tim Cahill or Mark Schwarzer. has all information on nominees, voting and how you can be part of a once-in-a-lifetime gala event, which in turn raises funds for the Johnny Warren Foundation to fund its programs.